Featured Stories
Heat Index
Wantboards Wants To Change The Way You Shop With A “Reverse eBay”
tailgater concierge
Tailgater Concierge Takes The Work Out Of Your Football Tailgating Experience
ZenPayroll Changes Name To Gusto, Expands Into Benefits To Compete With Zenefits And ADP
This Restaurant Serves Food With No Human Interaction
TaxiTapp Helps Cab Companies Compete With Uber Using Free Mobile Apps
How To Approach Venture Capitalists And Angel Investors
Equity Crowdfunding: 4 Steps To Success
Marketing And Social Media Resources For Startups
Gaining Funding Without Giving Up Equity: It Is Possible
Strategies For Avoiding Burnout
Most Recent
Read More
October 26, 2014

The Best Alternative To Google AdSense

There are a ton of ad networks out there that publishers can use to monetize their traffic. The first one that comes to mind is Google AdSense, of course, but—believe it or not—there are alternatives. I’ve tested many of them, here on VentureBreak and elsewhere, and there’s only one that I can recommend as a true AdSense competitor: Adversal.

Adversal pays decently, and the ads are extremely well-tailored to the content of any given page. The company offers industry-standard banner ad sizes, including:

300×1050 Portrait 300×600 Large Skyscraper 300×250 Rectangle 728×90 Leaderboard 468×60 Standard Banner 160×600 Wide [...]
Read More
September 19, 2014

Power Nap Alarm Clock: The Best App To Refresh Your Mind

Any time I can take a nap and pass it off as work, I jump at the opportunity. And that’s exactly what happened this evening when I tried Sleep Cycle Power Nap. And boy, do I feel good.

Made by Northcube, developer of the original Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock, the app uses the accelerometer in your iPhone to determine which phase of sleep you’re in, waking you before you fall into deep sleep, so you wake up feeling energized after a quick power nap.

How It Works

The process is simple. When you start the app, you have three nap options: power nap, recovery nap, and 1 sleep cycle.

Power Nap, the app’s main attraction, will wake you up just before you [...]

Read More
April 30, 2014

A Review: Does Google Glass Make Sense?

I was pretty excited when I first heard about Google Glass and got on the list early hoping to get my hands on it. When Google held a one day sale earlier this month for their Explorer Program, I was keen to sign up. It arrived just two days later and I was excited to put it through the paces. Quickly, though, it dawned on me that it needed to be measured for any unique value or applications that may help justify the enormous $1,500 price point. Could the Google Glass enable someone to do something entirely new that could justify the price?

While there are a lot of videos online describing the design, materials, and look of Glass—I didn’t see much showcasing [...]

Read More
December 30, 2013

Review: ION Air Copy

Scanning has long been a difficult thing for most consumers. If you don’t know what you’re doing, setting up and using a scanner—especially a wireless one—can be intimidating. How can we solve this problem? ION’s Air Copy is a big step in the right direction.

Short Version

Air Copy by ION is a cool little gadget that scans photos and documents and sends them wirelessly to your computer or mobile device. It generates its own WiFi network, so you don’t need to have an existing LAN to use it. It’s controlled by ION’s official Air Copy apps, which are available for free on all major platforms.

It’s pretty easy to use: you just [...]

Read More
July 22, 2013

Review: Numark Mixtrack Pro II

The newly updated Numark Mixtrack Pro II is a two-deck entry-level DJ controller that comes bundled with Serato DJ Intro. The original Mixtrack Pro was one of the best-selling DJ controllers on the market, and I expect the updated version will inherit that title. The Mixtrack Pro II is laid out similarly to its predecessor, but the new version has a sleeker appearance, thinner jog wheels, and a 16-pad setup to control loops, samples, hotcues, and so on.

The Mixtrack Pro II has a mostly plastic build quality, but it feels very sturdy and would likely hold up well for anyone who takes good care of their gear. The controller is very compact and portable, making it easy to [...]

Read More
August 3, 2010

DataVoila: "The Programmable Editor For The Pro User"

If you’re a programmer, you know what a pain it is to convert data between many different sources and formats.  It’s time consuming and very tedious.  DataVoila automates this process for you.  It’s very versatile, yet it is about as far from bloatware as you can get.  There’s beauty in simplicity.

I asked developer Andreas Wulf how this program would be valuable to people, to which he responded, “DataVoila is for anyone who needs to extract, validate, convert or generally edit structured or unstructured data and wants to automate this task.”  

Read More
August 2, 2010

Dropbox 2GB free online storage space and file sharing

As any webmaster will tell you cheap online file storage is hard to come by. I have found a company that offer free 2GB of convenient online storage called Dropbox. Let me tell you more about it. As I am a webmaster myself with my website hosted on a free server(Awardspace) setting up file downloads for my products has been extremely hard until now. I have managed to host all my downloads on a free service called Dropbox which give me 2GB of free storage space and allows all my users to download my files off their servers. This not only means that I don’t have to waste any unnecessary space on my server I don’t have to use any extra bandwidth either.

Read More
August 1, 2010

First Impressions Of The X8

I finally received my new mouse in the mail yesterday. You have no idea how excited I was. If you want to know a little bit more, here is a post I made a while ago about a mouse I really have come to not like. I got the package and opened my new mouse, the Microsoft Sidewinder X8.

Read More
July 29, 2010

Organize Your Entire Life Online With Jibidee

Jibidee is a service that allows you to organize your entire life on the web.  It gives you a place to put everything into a single centralized place — contacts, media, tasks, etc.  A calendar is integrated into the application, and it can be used to remind you about birthdays or other events in your life.  You can opt to receive notifications via email or text message.

File hosting is another big part of the service.  It hosts just about any type of digital media you want — images, video, audio, etc.  Everything you store on the server will be secured via SSL encryption.  

Read More
July 26, 2010

Codesnipp.it – The Social Network For Developers [Get an invite!]

Codesnipp.it is a promising new startup that allows developers to share knowledge and code with other developers over the Internet.  It’s a really cool concept.  Basically it’s a full social network where you have a customizable profile, and you can share “code snippits” in a variety of computer languages, and other users can take those snippits and use them for their own software, or constructively criticize them to help you out.  But they are currently in private beta, so you need to be invited to join.  If this sounds appealing, we have invites to give away, and you might just get one.  

Load More
End of the line!
Got a tip, pitch, or guest post?
Tell us.
Web & Social
Policy & Law